Google+ shut down

Yes, you heard it right. According to the latest news, Google+ is now going away on April 2 which clearly means that all of our Google+ content along with pages, photos as well as videos will disappear with it.

Last year, the Google announced its shut down in part due to non-usage of platform but in December, its closure date pushed up from August to April by company and is asking its existing users to download their Google+ data before it gets deleted.

It is not good news for all those professionals and students at the Universities of Australia, USA and UK who have their account on Google+. Our assignment help experts says that this is popular social network, they can add curated circles of their particular interests, entertainment, sports, education and news etc. as well as connect with other communities of their passion in order to know more.

Google+ was launched in 2010 as the latest attempt in creating a social media platform similar o Facebook but this is the fact that it may not have been as successful as its competitors such as Google Business Listing or Facebook etc. but still has a following through the communities which have been established. Now it is at its end, it has provided a process for its users in order to be able to save and move their existing Google+ data.

So, it is the last chance for all the professionals and students at the Universities of Australia to take the back-up of their desired and important data as soon as possible.

Let’s go through the process:

  • If you are signed in and have a Google+ account, all the Google+ options will be preselected. Just go to the Google’s “Download your data” page.
  • In case of saving only a specific data by you, select None and choose only the products you are interested in. You can also toggle the products on and off.
  • Click Next
  • Now choose your file type and delivery method such as email link, Dropbox etc.
  • Now you have to click Create Archive

Note one thing hat exporting your data does not delete your existing Google+ profile but if you want to do that before its official closure, just go to the downgrade page and follow the instructions.

This shut down will take time as per the Google which means your content may not be deleted on April 2. But if there is anything you want to save related to your education at schools and University of Australia, go ahead and save it now. The photos and videos with backed up in Google photos will not be deleted when it shut down.

Data Breach: One of the main reasons behind Google+ shut down can be data breach which happened on the platform on March 2018. In this, the personal and private information had been shared illegally over 5, 00,000 accounts without the consent by a number of developers. It was the same time that Facebook was under extreme scrutiny because of the Cambridge Analytica Data scandal and months before GDPR was launched.

Small user base: Another reason can be the low number of users on this platform behind the closure of Google+. It was launched in 2011 when people across the internet were already using Facebook and Twitter as their main social media platforms and they both were receiving a surge in the number of users. In simple words, Google+ has hefty competition since it came to existence to attract users.

Google+ will be shut down on 2nd April which means that users would have to export and save their data out of the platform. For enabling users to do this, Google launched a service known as Takeout. It makes the process of exporting data much smoother and easier for users.